The James Currey Prize for African Literature/ How to Apply (Prize: £1000 + Publication)

The James Currey Prize for African Literature is an annual award for the best-unpublished work of fiction written in English by any writer, set in Africa or on Africans in Africa or in Diaspora.

It was established in 2020 by Nigerian writer, filmmaker and publisher of Hattus Books, Onyeka Nwelue, in honour of James Currey, the leading publisher of academic books on Africa – dedicated to distributing books about Africa in Africa. It is run by the World Arts Agency.

James Currey, co-founder of James Currey publishers (est 1984) has been called “The Godfather of African Literature”. His publishing house is responsible for producing vast numbers of academic books, journals, fiction and non-fiction books about Africa, especially in a period when it was considered not profitable to publish books about Africa. He together with Chinua Achebe under the auspices of Heinemann publishers, produced the famous African Writers Series (AWS) which have inspired many African(ist)s around the world.


The James Currey Prize for African Literature

Eligibility  for 2023 James Currey Prize for African Literature

  • The contest is open to Africans only. 
  • Persons born in Africa, who is a national or resident of an African country, or whose parents are African.
  • Only previously unpublished prose fiction submissions in English will be considered.
  • There is no restriction of age. 
  • Entry is free. 



Submission Guidelines 


  1. The Prize is awarded annually for the best unpublished full-length work of prose fiction written in English. A novel written in English.
  2. The winner of the Prize will be selected from a long list of ten titles, followed by a shortlist of three outstanding manuscripts submitted for the prize.
  3. It is important to note that no person, past or present, with affiliations to The James Currey society and Abibiman Publishing is eligible for the prize.
  4. Winning manuscript will be published by Abibiman Publishing UK.
  5. Deadline for submission is June 12th, 2023
  6. Send submissions to Email: [email protected]
  7. Send in your best work. Edit thoroughly.



The winner receives £1000.


(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)