HG Wells Short Story Competition 2023/ Prize (£1500 + Publication)

The HG Wells Short Story Competition is open to all writers worldwide to submit Fiction of any kind.

The HG Wells short story competition was founded by the world-renowned BBC Aeronautics Correspondent Reg Turnill and his wife, Margaret, to celebrate the life and works of HG Wells and encourage creative writing, especially among the young. The prestigious HG Wells Short Story Competition offers generous Senior and Junior prizes and free publication of all shortlisted entries in a quality, professionally published paperback anthology.

HG Wells Short Story Competition About

Submission Guidelines for HG Wells Short Story Competition

The theme for this year’s competition is MOTION in its broadest interpretation. Learn how to write stories with a theme for your submission.

  • The competition is open to anyone.
  • Entrants must be aged 21 years and below.
  • There are no restrictions on nationality.
  • Entry should be made on the HG Wells Competition Website.

How to Enter

  • There are two competitions: The Margaret and Reg Turnill Competition for young writers of 21 years and under, for which the prize winner receives £1,000, and a competition for the over 21s which offers the Grand Prize of £500.
  • This year’s theme is “Motion”.
  • Entries must be in English.
  • The length is 1,500 to 5,000 words.
  • Double quotation marks should be used for speech and single quotation marks for other appropriate purposes.

HG Wells Short Story Competition Guidelines

  • All submissions should be the writer’s original work. You should not submit the work of others, either in part or in translation. Learn how to write original stories.
  • Stories should be the sole work of the one submitted author. Co-authored stories are not accepted.
  • Copyright remains with the author.
  • The story may not be published, or accepted for publication, elsewhere including for other publications by the shortlist announcement date (Thursday 21st September).


  • Authors 21 years of age and under (on 10th July 2023) will win a prize of £1,000. (Entry is free).
  • Authors aged 22 years and above on 10th July 2023 will be awarded a prize of £500

Dates to Remember

  • Monday 10th July 2023 (11pm BST) :  final date for entries
  • Thursday 21st September 2023 : shortlists announced
  • Sunday 19th November 2023 : Awards Ceremony

If interested, do visit their website to learn more about the submission. Goodluck.


(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)